Tags

, , , ,

help a reader out

So last Friday I shared a bit about my love for costume/fashion history. I’d like to expand upon that knowledge further by asking for book recs concerning this subject. Below are the books I already own (and love, check them out!) and would love to find even more.

9780685067871-us-300

 

 

Historic Costumes for the Stage by Lucy Barton
Selections from the book were used as the textbook for our college Costume Design and History course, a classic!

 

 

$_35

 

 

Fashion: The Mirror of History by Michael & Ariane Batterberry
I picked this one up at a library book sale. Lots of in-depth info.

 

 

 

16132354

 

 

Fashion: The Definitive History of Costume and Style by Susan Brown
Wonderful images!

 

 

 

3444401

 

What People Wore When:Β A Complete Illustrated History of Costume from Ancient Times to the Nineteenth Century for Every Level of SocietyΒ by Melissa Leventon
This is probably my favorite of my collection. It’s a little confusing at first, to figure out how they sorted things chronologically, but I love the timeline features!

 

Also: check out The Pragmatic Costumer, which is helmed by a college classmate of ours. Wonderful info, fabulous creations, and a sense of humor to boot!

So please help a reader out and give me your fashion/costume history book recs. I need an excuse to buy more books!

ang sig bar

