Tags

, ,

review top bar

 

 

runningwithscissors

 

Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs
Release Date: June 1, 2003
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Rating: 3 Page Turns

 

 

I’ve heard of Augusten Burroughs for as long as I can remember and I’ve always heard how great of a writer he is. I recently decided to read Running with Scissors and decided to write a review.

Running with Scissors is the (true) story of a boy, his mother, and all the craziness that exists in their life. The responsibility of who takes care of Augusten is passed around constantly which keeps this book bizarre and interesting. Take a glance inside his world and see how Burroughs manages to survive the madness.

Memoirs seem to be one of those love or hate genres. Personally, I enjoy reading about the experiences that make up someone else’s life which in turn reminds me of what Chuck Palahniuk says, “…I am the combined effort of everyone I’ve ever known.” The curious part of me likes knowing what’s going on in someone else’s head.

Augustan Burroughs is a wonderful writer, no doubt about it. His voice is honest, funny, and sometimes painful. Even in examining himself he is ruthless when it comes to what drove him as a teenager. Burroughs and his mother have an extremely complicated relationship and this plays a role in virtually every decision he makes throughout Running with Scissors. Therapy and drugs play a role in this book as well and certainly not in the typical teenager way. I enjoyed this book overall and am planning to read the other two in the trilogy, Dry and Lust & Wonder.

Recommended for those who…
Enjoy memoirs
Identify with having a bizarre family/childhood

Favorite quote:
“Smoking had become my favorite thing in the world to do. It was like having instant comfort, no matter where or when.”

If you liked Running with Scissors you may like:
The Santaland Diaries by David Sedaris
Homecoming (Tillerman Cycle #1) by Cynthia Voigt

Have you read Running with Scissors? Let us know below in the comments.

 

sally sig bar

