Tags

, , , ,

review top bar

 

bravenewworld

 

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
Release Date: September 1, 1998
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Rating: 4 Page Turns

 

 

Brave New World was one of our book club picks for December. We chose two classics and this was one of my choices. I have wanted to read this for years (partly because I felt I should.) After finishing this I’m looking forward to reading more of Huxley’s work.

Brave New World shows life in an ideal society. Bernard Marx is the only person who seems to be not contented with how perfect life is. After traveling to a planet with an old, imperfect society, Marx will never see things the same way again.

I generally enjoy any book that takes place in an alternate society/universe or that has a touch of dystopia (i.e. A Clockwork Orange, Fahrenheit 451, I Sing the Body Electric! etc.) In our current world where technology advances every day it’s not so hard to imagine a future where we’re all somewhat programmed to be happy as we see in Brave New World.

Aldous Huxley does a fantastic job of creating a group of people that have lost all sense of what is appropriate as well as what is important. Bernard Marx is in a constant struggle because he has none of the same interests or desires as his fellow man. In this world differences or irregularities are to be shamed and punished, not understood or accepted. After seeing evidence of how the world used to be Marx invites change and therefore disrupts everything that the others hold dear.

Recommended for those who…
Enjoy reading about alternate societies/universes
Enjoy books set in the future

Favorite quote: *I chose two quotes this time!
“If one’s different, one’s bound to be lonely.”
“I am I, and I wish I weren’t.”

If you liked Brave New World you may like:
The Man Who Fell to Earth by Walter Tevis
A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
Anthem by Ayn Rand

Have you read Brave New World? Are there any dystopian/science fiction books that you recommend? Let us know below in the comments.

 

sally sig bar

