Tags

, , , , , ,

review top bar

51aT-+HwVqL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
Published: October 6, 2015
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Rating: 5 page turns

 

As far as Chosen Ones go, Simon Snow is kind of crap. He can’t control his powers and he has no idea how to defeat the Insidious Humdrum. But believe it or not, the Insidious Humdrum and his lackluster magical performance might be the least of his problems.

I love Rainbow Rowell, but I was fully prepared to feel meh about this book, despite the fact that I loved the characters when reading Rowell’s Fangirl. The premise seems to be the same as any other “Chosen One” story, especially Harry Potter, which I expected to dislike. I was quite pleasantly surprised, upon reading the first few chapter, as I couldn’t put this book down!

Simon is a wonderfully flawed character, but without the annoying angst that fills many YA stories. Baz is absolute perfection, and was by far my favorite character. Rowell’s take on a magical school/world was refreshing, especially how her Magicians used their magic (I won’t spoil it for those who haven’t read, but it was clever indeed)! By the third chapter I was sucked in and had trouble putting down the book for menial tasks such as working, driving, and sleeping.

My one gripe about the book is that the ending felt rushed. I enjoyed the way everything came together but the climax of the novel was so quick and almost glazed over, that it felt like an editor forced Rowell to wrap up the book in 20 pages. I would have liked the climax and denouement to taken more time and explain things more clearly. But this small complaint did not lessen my enjoyment of the book at all. I am so glad we got to read Simon and Baz’s story and I plan to reread this one soon!

Recommended for those who…
Enjoyed the Simon & Baz fanfiction sections of Fangirl
Find themselves missing stories of boy wizards and chosen ones

Favorite quote:
“(Just when you think you’re having a scene without Simon, he drops in to remind you that everyone else is a supporting character in his catastrophe.)”

If you liked Carry On you may like:
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling (duh!)
The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
Flat-Out Love by Jessica Park

I want to hear your take on Carry On! Same old story or fresh take on a classic trope? Tell me your thoughts!

ang sig bar

