Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

what ladies of the library read this month

wlotlr 1015

 

ANGELA:
This was a bad month for me, reading-wise. I didn’t want to read any of the books I had planned out for the month (I didn’t really want to read any books – truth be told). Hopefully I’m getting back into the groove of reading and blogging. Maybe I just needed a break?

The Boys from Brazil by Ira Levin (book club read)
After You (Me Before You #2) by Jojo Moyes
Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh (book club read)
In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume
A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove #1) by Tessa Dare (currently reading)
Total pages read: 2179

SALLY:
The Boys from Brazil by Ira Levin (book club read)
Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh (book club read)
Geek Love by Katherine Dunn
Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs (currently reading)
The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1) by Lemony Snicket
The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events #2)
by Lemony Snicket
Total pages read: 1379

BOOK HAUL

ANGELA:
Being uninspired to read did not stop me from buying ALL THE BOOKS this month. I’m going to list half of them now because I’m currently on a book buying ban (November 1 through the end of the year – minus two preorders and book club picks) so I’ll share the other half next month.

Silent in the Grave (Lady Julia Grey series #1) by Deanna Raybourn
Cold-Hearted Rake by Lisa Kleypas
The Danish Girl by David Ebershoff
My True Love Gave to Me (Twelve Holiday Stories) by Various
The (Revised) Outlandish Companion (Vol 1) by Diana Gabaldon
The Queen’s Lady by Barbara Kyle
The Accidental Empress by Allison Pataki
Astonish Me by Maggie Shipstead
The Vagina Monologues by Eve Ensler
The White Queen by Philippa Gregory
That Scandalous Summer by Meredith Duran

SALLY: prepare for an extremely LONG list. Half Price Books had a huge clearance sale and well, you know…

Girls Like Us by Sheila Weller
In the Company of the Courtesan by Sarah Dunant
The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack (Burton & Swinburne, #1) by Mark Hodder
Thunderstruck by Erik Larson
American Gothic by Elizabeth Terry
The Children’s Book by A. S. Byatt
Roanoke by Margaret Lawrence
Ship of Fools by Richard Paul Russo
Women at War by Lois McMaster Bujold
City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte
Mister B. Gone by Clive Barker
December 8, 1980 The Day John Lennon Died by Keith Elliot Greenberg
The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters
A Dangerous Woman: The Life, Loves, and Scandals of Adah Isaacs Menken… by Michael Foster and Barbara Foster
Smoking Typewriters by John McMillian

ON THE BLOG

ANGELA
What I loved in October:
What We’re Listening to Wednesday – In an attempt to branch out and share other things we love, we launched this new series and I especially wnjoyed being able to share my current autumn play list.
Kaitlyn’s 31 Books of Halloween – what an amazing list! I’ve sadly only read a few of these books but now I know what I’ll be reading when Halloween rolls around again!

SALLY
My October faves were:
Halloween Book Inspired Gifts Kaitlyn found some awesome items, especially that Pennywise figurine!
Top 7 Book Boyfriends Who doesn’t love dreaming about what it would be like to date our favorite literary men?!

NEXT MONTH

WHAT WE PLAN TO READ

Angela:
Due to my lack of reading last month (which I mentioned above) I’m not going to make an extra long list this time around. I’m going to go where by curiosity takes me.

Cold-Hearted Rake by Lisa Kleypas
Beyond the Infinite Sea by Beatriz Williams
Silent in the Grave (Lady Julia Grey series #1) by Deanna Raybourn

Sally:
Brave New World by Aldous Huxley (book club read)
The Trial by Franz Kafka (book club read)
Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #3) by Ransom Riggs
The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith
The Wide Window (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #3) by Lemony Snicket
The Awakening by Kate Chopin

Now on to November!

What was your favorite October read?

