Tags

, , , , ,

review top bar

lemony1

The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #1) by Lemony Snicket
Release Date: September 30, 1999
GoodreadsAmazon | Barnes and Noble
Rating: 5 Page Turns

 

I remember when the Lemony Snicket books first came out and for whatever reason I had absolutely no interest in reading them. Call me crazy but I just didn’t understand all the hype. Maybe because I was busy devouring other books at the time? Who knows. Fast forward many years, I saw the movie and was immediately hooked! I’ve read the first two books and certainly plan to finish the entire series.

The Bad Beginning introduces the audience to the Baudelaire children. We learn early on that misfortune follows the children who quickly become orphans. As if that isn’t bad enough they are forced to live with a relative who cares nothing for them or their well-being. As is often the case, the children are not listened to until it seems to be too late.

I wish I had read the writing of Lemony Snicket as a child because he excels at talking to a young audience. Violet, Klaus, and Sunny have a sibling(s) relationship that is to be envied yet manages to still be realistic. They are all intelligent, practical, and incredibly gifted- something all children (and adults,) should strive for. Reading this book made me nostalgic for my childhood. Despite many setbacks the orphans are able to triumph over Count Olaf (for now) and find happiness.

Recommended for those who…
Enjoy juvenile/YA books
Have a passion for adventure
Enjoyed the movie A Series of Unfortunate Events

Favorite quote:
“The worst surroundings in the world can be tolerated if the people in them are interesting and kind.”

If you liked The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #1) you may like:
The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #2) by Lemony Snicket
The Boxcar Children (#1) by Gertrude Chandler Warner
The Mysterious Benedict Society (#1) by Trenton Lee Stewart

Did you enjoy The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #1)? Are there any similar books/series that you would recommend? Let us know in the comments below.

sally sig bar

