Tags

, , , ,

review top bar

htbaw1

How To Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran
Release Date: June 16, 2011
Goodreads| Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Rating: 4 Page Turns

 

How To Be a Woman was chosen for our book club last month and I was blown away by how funny and honest it was. It had been on my ever growing “to read” list for awhile now so I was glad to finally read it.

Caitlin Moran describes all the big events that make up the life of a female pre-teen, teenager, and young woman. She discusses what it means to be a woman, the progress we’ve made as a sex and all the work we still have ahead of us. You’ll find yourself asking questions about your work place, personal relationships and the interactions you have with other women.

Caitlin has a razor sharp wit and fantastic sense of humor. This is combined with sarcasm and a practicality that I really identified with. As she recounts tales of puberty, her first job, and adulthood I found myself thinking “this is someone I would be friends with.” The style of writing is very straight forward as we’re given a look at one woman’s experience with becoming and being a woman. I appreciated the fact that she tackled real issues such as abortion and sexism, both of which were written about from several points of view.

Being able to read someone’s opinions that are similar to mine is always nice but I found myself looking at certain things in different ways which is what I really loved about this book! For anyone who considers themselves a feminist, wants to be a feminist or just wants to feel like someone understands what it means to be a woman…this book is for you.

Recommended for those who…
Have an interest in feminism
Enjoy funny memoirs
Want to relive awkward/awesome memories of becoming a woman

Favorite quote:
“But the problem with battling yourself is that even if you win, you lose.”

If you liked How To Be a Woman you may like:
Heroines of Comic Books and Literature by Maja Bajac-Carter (& various)
Then Again by Diane Keaton

Did How To Be a Woman hit home for you? Or were you left in the cold by Moran’s style? Tell us your thoughts below.

