Tags

, , , , ,

review top bar

513Ia0ZzFxL._SX307_BO1,204,203,200_When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare
Published: September 25, 2015
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble
Rating: 5 Page Turns


Madeline Eloise Gracechurch has well and truly screwed up. At the age of sixteen, on the eve of her first London season, she invented a dashing Scottish suitor for herself, one who conveniently happened to be away at war. She continued telling her story, and writing to her absent paramour until she decided it was time that her poor love was “killed” in the line of duty. Maddie and her family grieved, but her feigned mourning allowed her to live away from her family and other prying eyes, and provided her the opportunity to make a living for herself as an illustrator. That is, until Captain Logan MacKenzie, and his band of Highlanders, showed up at her door and mucked things up. Not only is he a real person, but he received all of her letter throughout the years and has come to claim what is rightfully his.

This. Book. Was. Delightful. I purchased the ebook version of this novel after seeing it recommended by Kimberly at Caffeinated Book Reviewer, and thought it would be a great, quick read. I’ve been slogging through the long, but wonderful, The Memoirs of Cleopatra, and needed a break filled with something fun. I haven’t read the other books in the Castles Ever After series (and I’m normally a stickler about reading series in order) but I just couldn’t resist this!

Boy am I glad I picked this up. Logan and Maddie were such a wonderful pair, each flawed and full of issues. I especially loved Maddie’s struggle with social anxiety, something you don’t often come across in romance novels of this sort. The two were able to come to terms with their own issues by helping each other, although their problems weren’t magically solved by the end of the books, which I loved. The plot came together with a few twists and turns, a few I figured out before hand, but even more that I didn’t.

The cast of background characters were absolutely delightful, and added to the hilarity this novel provided. I guffawed so many times throughout this book, which I finished in one sitting. I could not put this book down and absolutely didn’t want to. I highly recommend this for anyone who wants a very funny romp through the Highlands filled with plenty of sexual tension. And now I’m off to read the rest of the Castles Ever After series!

Recommended for those who…
Enjoyed the Outlander series (books or movies)
Like a little lot of humor with their romance
Experience social (or any kind of) anxiety

Favorite quote(s):
“Here’s the layout of the ground floor,” he said. “Entrances and exits are here and here. The first thing we do is set up a perimeter. Make certain no lobsters go in, no lobsters go out.”

(…and since I couldn’t pick just one…)

“Madeline Eloise Gracechurch: Stealth Cuddler.”

If you liked When a Scot Ties the Knot you may like:
Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord by Sarah MacLean
It Takes Two to Tangle by Theresa Romain

ang sig bar

