Tags

, , , , , ,

review top bar

51NovWsd8PL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

Royal Wedding: A Princess Diaries Novel by Meg Cabot
Released: June 2, 2015
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Rating: Three page turns

First things first, I must admit that part of my (somewhat) favorable review was due to the nostalgia factor of this book. When I was a preteen I loooooved The Princess Diaries. I inhaled the books as quick as I could get my hands on them, watched the movies countless times (the movies also spurred my deep and abiding love for the band Rooney, Robert Schwartzman’s band), and generally idolized Mia Thermopolis. At that point in my life I had yet to find a book helmed by someone as awkward as myself. Cabot wrote the series perfectly with preteens and teenagers in mind. Mia was relatable, funny, and the provider of much secondhand embarrassment. These observations still ring mostly true in Cabot’s newest installment, Royal Wedding: A Princess Diaries Novel.

It’s been five years since Princess Mia graduated college, and the adult world is getting the best of her. Balancing her work at the community center she founded, with that of being the heir to the Genovian throne, Mia just manages to squeeze in time with her boyfriend, Michael. But the press is going wild. Why won’t Michael propose? When is Princess Mia getting married? Mia is constantly hounded by paparazzi (and a stalker!) which is shooting her stress level through the roof. Add in her father’s re-election campaign and legal troubles, Grandmère just being Grandmère, and Michael’s questionable activities of late, anyone can see why Mia has insomnia and a constantly-twitching eye. It’s from this chaotic moment in Mia’s life that we travel with her through beach vacations, an engagement, wedding planning, and many more shocking surprises.

I don’t think this book quite fits into the “New Adult” label. If you subtract the mentions of sex (and there were quiet a few, specifically involving roleplay) this book could easily fit in the YA category. It felt like Cabot was still writing this book from teenage-Mia’s perspective: any talk about sex throughout the novel was like reading what teenage Mia thinks an adult would say. The adult perspective just wasn’t believable, and this made me sad because I wanted Mia to have matured just like I have since I first read the series.

With the above being said, it was still a fun read. I definitely think it was worth the small amount of time I spent reading it, and I did laugh out loud at a few portions of the book. It’s hard to describe my favorite parts without making this review all kinds of spoiler-y, but suffice it to say that a wedding is not the biggest challenge Mia has to face in this book. At times it felt like there were too many plot lines weaving through the book, a few of which were wrapped up (almost too easily) by the end of the book, and many of which were not. This book did not keep me guessing at all and Cabot blatantly dropped in hints as to where the book was going, and the only person that was left surprised at these twists was Mia.

All in all, I’d only really recommend this for TPD fans. I would not have enjoyed the book half as much as I did without the nostalgia factor.

Recommended for:
Anyone who loved TPD series growing up.
Anyone who stands in front of the mirror and says “This is as good as it’s going to get.”
Those looking for a quick, fluff-filled read.

Favorite quote:
“The good thing about being in one’s midtwenties is that you know nothing bad is going to happen if you don’t return people’s texts and voice mails.”

If you liked Royal Wedding you may like:
Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (read this, seriously! *squee*)
Mad About the Boy by Helen Fielding

Were you a teen Princess Diaries lover like Angela? Did Royal Wedding measure up to your expectations? Tell us below.

ang sig bar

